Maybe We’ll Win Megamillions

I played lotto for the first time today. The jackpot is 640 million and I know that I don’t have a cat’s chance in hell of winning, but I donated $5 to the Megamillions, anyway.

Growing up in a blue collar family, my parents always played lotto, but this is my first time buying a ticket for myself. In truth when I was about seven, my father bought a lottery ticket for a large prize and said to me : wish me luck because if we hit, we’re going to be rich.

Being that I was a hyper-morally conscience child, I replied in tears: I don’t want us to win because if we become rich, then we’ll be snobs. I don’t want us to be snobs.

Somehow this is not a concern this time around.

I was compelled to buy a lottery ticket today, not because I truly believe that I have any chance of winning , but because so many aspects of our lives seem to have odds, greater than the lottery. Most of the places where we submit our writing, the jobs for which we have applied, the colleges and programs for which we seek to gain admission are far more difficult to ascertain. We’re living in times where everything seems to be driven by chance. Buying a home, pursuing higher education, retiring, all come with far higher risks in the 21st C. Playing lotto no longer feels irrational. The odds are highly against us as we pursue our 21st C. goals, but we walk toward them, anyway. Perhaps tonight, we’ll walk our way toward 640 million. Good luck!

About 30 Ways of Walking

Gina Liotta's writing has appeared in or is forthcoming in The New York Quarterly, Slate, The Paterson Literary Review, LIPS, and The Healing Muse, among others. She lives, writes and teaches in New York.
This entry was posted in Philosophical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe We’ll Win Megamillions

  1. I played as well…we didn’t win. I’m not sure that I would have wanted to, there is far too much publicity involved and I don’t look good on camera. But I bought a ticket because I figured someone would have to win. In any case, the vague hope was worth a ride, makes you think about the pie in the sky and what color your drapes would be. For now though, I guess it’s back to life as normal…I’m kinda getting used to the idea of sheets covering the windows!

    • yes, it would be better if the money just surreptitiously arrived in your bank account, rather than deal with the publicity surrounding the ordeal. In case any readers are wondering, we did not win either.

Comment

