REI here we come!

On our way to the New-York Historical Society’s evening exhibition hours **, we stopped in SoHo to visit the new REI Co-Op in the former Puck Building. If you have read my earliar posts on Credit Unions, you’ll know that I am a fan of cooperatively owned business ventures. REI is another fantastic example.

As an REI Co-Op member you receive annual dividends based on the previous year’s purchasing history. The Co-Op keeps a record of all of your purchases and everything has a lifetime guarantee. If it breaks or tears, bring it back to the Co-Op and get a new one, free of charge, no questions asked.  REI organizes classes, some of which carry a fee, but many which are free, on a variety of topics related to the outdoors. We’re hoping to participate in one of the compass classes.

I first stumbled into an REI eight years ago, not for hiking gear but for a second layer of skin. I found my way to REI in an atypical, circuitous fashion through a militantly feminist grad school professor. My professor’s philosophy on make-up was that if you were wearing any, it meant that you hadn’t spent enough time on the assigned reading. In her words: there is no time for frivolous adornment; we are reading Derrida!

This might have annoyed some (ok it annoyed many) but for me it was a  moment of liberation. Not a first-wave feminist awakening, but rather a moment where I felt empowered to come to terms with Ichthyosis, my skin condition, which worsens every year with age. At 16 I could pile my face with concealer and foundation, adorn my eyes with liquid liner and create a beautiful face that I keep in the jar by the door. At twenty-two, I was begining to lose parts of my face to Ichthyosis and makeup was accelrating the process of dehydration and scaling. I stopped wearing make-up as ritual at twenty-two to preserve what was left of my skin. Rather than feel defeated that I could not use the products that for many women define their identity, I felt empowered: I was choosing not to wear eye shadow so I could read Derrida!

At twenty-two the pain was becoming more chronic and this same professor, who loved to ski, suggested that I invest in some Smart Wool, when she learned of  the physical limitations of my condition. As someone who never spent much time outdoors, let alone participating in winter sports, I didn’t have a clue what the differences were between Smart Wool and cotton. She sent me to REI.

When I arrived at REI, the land of protective base layers, water-wicking merino wool, and wigwam 30 below socks, I had found my fleece covered Louis Vuitton! As I age, I am comming to a better understanding of my body’s unique needs and pretty much, it needs to be covered head-to-toe in soft fibers for about 10 months out of the year. To keep my body insulated and to protest my withering skin, I am dressed in Smart Wool turtlenecks until the temperature hits about 80 degrees.

The best part of discovering the REI aesthetic, for me, was that everyone in the West wears this look. So when I lived in Oregon, I could feel comfortable AND wear something fashionable. The difference was that the Oregonians were on their way to hike in Bhutan or to climb Mt. Hood; I was simply trying to walk from my car to my classroom without taking in enough erratic air to lose my range of motion for the rest of the day. Now that I am back in NY, no one wears Smart Wool on a day-to-day basis, so when I walked into REI SoHo, it felt like coming home.

We haven’t made any purchases yet, but are beginning to investigate our footwear options. If you have any suggestions about footwear, we welcome your input.

 
** It’s probably super nerdy that I wish WordPress had a footnotes feature. Anyhow, the New-York Historical Society is one of the best kept secrets on Museum row. Located next to the Museum of Natural History on the west side of the Park, the collection is housed in an elegant Beaux-Arts building. The exhibitions offer sharp revisionist depictions of the narratives of the Americas in an interactive contemporary format. They have a children’s component that I have not visited, but the general museum, in attempt to be inclusive of dis/Abled visitors presents dynamic exhibitions that incorporate the needs of visual, auditory, kinesthetic and tactile learners.  While you’re there, pop across the street and visit the North Woods. There are so many wonderful places in this city.

About 30 Ways of Walking

Gina Liotta's writing has appeared in or is forthcoming in The New York Quarterly, Slate, The Paterson Literary Review, LIPS, and The Healing Muse, among others. She lives, writes and teaches in New York.
This entry was posted in Logistical and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to REI here we come!

  1. sgyoung says:

    REI rocks !!
    British weather is probably more like Seattle than NY. Of course it varies.
    Footwear? Good boots. I would bring some kind of trail runners also, because you don’t always need boots. The problem is carrying the extra weight of more shoes. Still your feet are so important when hiking. Skip the fashion shoes. Or mail yourself an old pair to a hotel if you’ll be in a town. Then throw them away when you leave town.

    • Thanks! What exactly do you mean by trail runners, I’m intrigued.

      • sgyoung says:

        trail runners=running shoes designed for trail work, usually they are a little stronger, and have a rugged sole design
        I’ve hiked in Britain and would not go without proper boots because conditions can become surprisingly severe depending on weather, but if the path is good you can save energy carrying the boots on your pack instead of on your feet. Also I’m a fan of those hiking poles that collapse to fit in pack. A good strategy for an up and down elevation day (probably most days) is to save the boots fo rthe down unless you need them for mud and rocks etc. Down is harder on feet ankles and knees. A running store will know what trail runners are.

      • Thanks! Yes, we’re still debating whether or not to get poles.

  2. awalkinglife says:

    I live in the west and yes,REI is my favorite store. I would suggest a lightweight hiking boot or hightop trail shoe, maybe even consider some that are waterproof or at least water resistant. Walking with wet feet can become unbearable. Good hiking socks are also a must and Smartwool makes some great ones, they have good cushioning and the wool helps if your feet do get wet. Always keep a pair of dry socks handy so you can change them quickly though. Ziplock bags work wonderful for keeping an extra pair close by and dry. Hope this helps.

  3. shornrapunzel says:

    I really love my Vasques from REI. They are light hiking boots with pretty rugged thick soles. They are comfy and didn’t take much breaking in. They don’t keep water out particularly well, though, since they are leather and have a few mesh patches for breathability.
    My parents have both started using hiking poles and really like them, especially for going downhill – they can take some of the stress off your knees as you push in with a pole and gently step down.

Comment

