Three Reasons Why I Love WordPress

1) The process of blogging over the past three months has been this amazing opportunity to talk, in depth, to those that I love who are far flung around the world, but to talk in a way more meaningful than a simple status update. As an only child, my expertise has always been one-on-one intimate discussions, which are hard to maintain via phone, Skype, e-mail or the rare and preferred face-to-face visit. There’s no pressure for any one person to respond, yet I have been more frequently in touch with those closest to me (the ones who I do not have the privilege of seeing everyday), than I have ever been in my adult life.

2) I’ve become acquainted with the unique and dedicated interests of hundreds of other bloggers who aim to create quality visual and print content and am following their writing process. Embarassingly, some of the blogs I have stumbled upon are written by people I actually know, in person, but due to the patterns of everyday life, I never knew they, too, were writing. In turn, the writing process has become collaborative. For example the folks at Girls Like Giants invited me to participate in their discussion of Mclaughin’s YA novel Scored. Additionally, folks have recommended many great reads, so I no longer need to rip up my books. Just kidding!

3) After almost ten years teaching the writing process, I am finally taking the advice I give to my students: Make a mess. True revision involves demolition and reconstruction. Writing can be a circuitous and frustrating process, but you must accept this fact and take the journey, anyway. This walking trip, this blogging trip, has brought me closer to the ritual of daily writing (perhaps not daily posting, but daily writing) and for that WordPress, I am very thankful.

About 30 Ways of Walking

Gina Liotta's writing has appeared in or is forthcoming in The New York Quarterly, Slate, The Paterson Literary Review, LIPS, and The Healing Muse, among others. She lives, writes and teaches in New York.
This entry was posted in Philosophical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three Reasons Why I Love WordPress

  1. Warriors and Goddesses says:

    Brilliantly put….. can totally relate.

  2. Fidophiles says:

    I really should be writing my own blog, and am guilty of procrastinating, but remembered a British Walking magazine that might interest you. The March edition featured the Coast to Coast walk, you might want to see a preview from this weblink:
    http://www.livefortheoutdoors.com/Our-walking-and-climbing-magazines/Country-Walking-Magazine/Country-Walking-Magazine—March-2012/

  3. I agree. WordPress is a great way to stay in touch, and really, when I say in touch, offer your close family and friends a glimpse into what you are thinking rather than a meaningless status update on facebook.

    🙂

    Jenny
    http://www.go-scuba-dive.com

Comment

